How to Make a Family

When I first entertained the idea of blogging a year ago, I drafted a post titled “How to Make a Family”. Upon my return, this draft was waiting for me with nothing more than a title.

I’ve been considering what I might have envisioned when I wrote that. Instructions? A recipe? I honestly don’t know what I had in mind, but some thoughts have come to me as I prepare to mark 8 years to the day of the first time I met my now husband (actually it was the first time we’d seen each other in 10 or so years, but that’s another story.)

So, when I think about how to make a family, the first thing that comes to mind is two people who love each other. But there’s more to it than that.

Those two people have to love each other enough.

Enough for what? Enough for everything. Enough for every smile, kiss, fight, mistake, birth, death, loss, victory, laugh, cry, journey, breakdown, upset, and joy.

You can throw whatever you’d like into the mix. In our case, that includes two kids, two dogs, one cat, an old house in the country, a backyard hammock, a helping of blood, sweat, tears, and equal parts happiness.

The extra ingredients will add a lot of flavor. But no matter what recipe you use, always start with two people in love.

20130917-070508.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

