The Wonder Years

image

Very excited that in addition to her three days a week at her regular preschool this year, sister will also be a “model peer” along with classmates in one of our program’s special education preschool classrooms.

And her classroom is in my old elementary school!

I have watched an amazing thing happen since my daughter started asking me questions about the work I do and the children I work with.

(Before this, we once had a very long meal at a Chinese restaurant once fielding her questions about a man with a prosthetic leg at the next table).

As we talked over time about how everyone has different abilities, strengths and challenges, she stopped pointing out people she came across who looked or acted differently than her.

I noticed her watching as some of the children came into the classroom today and could see her inquisitive mind at work.

But when she walked up to a young boy a few moments later, her only comment was about the toy he was playing with.

And I was so proud.

033

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

